Patron Message Text Dialog Box
To open this dialog box:
In Polaris Administration, select Parameters, Patron Services, Patron message text: Configure.
Use the Patron Message Text dialog box to set up predefined messages that staff can post to specific patron accounts. The messages are posted and managed from the Patron Status workform - Notes view, and patrons can read and delete them from the PAC patron account. See Setting Up Patron Messages for details.
- Add a message - Type up to 250 characters in the Message text box, including alpha-numeric and special characters and URLs, and click Add. The message is added to the list with an icon that indicates the organizational level at which it was added. Click Apply to save your changes and continue to work with the Patron Message Text dialog box, or click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.
Note:
The Message list includes all the messages added at the system and parent library levels as well as the branch level. The appropriate organizational icon indicates the level at which the message was added. To add a message from a parent organization for use by your organization, click the message. The text appears in the Message text box. Then click Add. Only messages defined at your organizational level can be modified or translated.
- Modify a message - Select the message in the Patron Message Text dialog box. The message is placed in the Message Text box, where you can edit. Then click Modify.
- Translate a message - You can translate an existing message into any licensed Polaris PowerPAC language. Select the message in the Patron Message Text dialog box and click Translate. The Language Strings dialog box opens. Select a language from the list and type your translation in the language column. To insert a diacritic character, click Diacritics. The Character Picker dialog box opens. Select a graphic character set, select the character, and click Insert.
- Delete a message - Select the message in the Patron Message Text dialog box and click Delete. If the message is linked to any patron record, a warning message is displayed. You can cancel the deletion or continue to delete the message. If you delete it, it is removed from any patron accounts where it is currently posted.